Nightmares with Open Workbench

I wanted to use a Project Planning tool and I did not have MS Project Plan. So I thought about using another tool. Turns out there is one out there called Open Workbench. Long story short, the source code has been kicked around a lot through acquisitions and people forgot about this code almost 3 years ago. So the tool is currently stuck @ 1.1.6 version. With it came issues like going bonkers with 64 bit systems and updates to Java. I mean even the original website listed in wikipedia is dead.

Anyway, I was getting an error saying it could not locate JRE 1.5 and that I had to install it. Ofcourse the software is stupid. It was around installed on my system but that OWB could not locate it. I bounced off of a few websites and none helped. So I put on my bug adder hat (read: Programmer) and thought – how could I possible write code that would fk up in the near future. I bounced off a lot of things but the final out come is that I solved it.

Here’s what you need to do.

I use Windows 7, 64 bit and the JRE was latest – version 7. First uninstall JRE and get yourself JRE v6 32 bit version. 64 bit version don’t seem to be working. Don’t ask why. Then install OWB 1.1.6. Run it in Windows 98/ME compatibility mode (right click on the exe, pick properties and switch to compatibility tab). That should solve the problems. I am not sure if adding the “JavaMemory*” variable to registry actually helped since it did not help me.

Along the way I came across weird errors like some MSVCR1000.dll missing and nonsense like that. It all worked fine when I installed it the way I had described above.

2 responses to “Nightmares with Open Workbench

  1. thanks for your tips. I have OWB 2.0 installed on Win7 (64bit). It was not launchable due to the JRE issue as mentioned. Afterwards, I installed a 32bit JRE 1,6, then I can start the OWB 2.0. BTW, I didn’t uninstall my 64bit JDK and JRE.

  2. In case of Open Workbench; they rely on the JRE installation to be there, but use their own JRE6 dll’s present in the installation directory of Open Workbench. Just copy the referenced JRE7 dll into Open Workbench and you’re done.

Leave a Reply

