The all new MSN Live! But the same old shit.

Where does this end?
MSN messenger has been the beacon of hopelessness for a long time now. Live! version just got worse. Here is a list of points that make me wonder as to what the developers were thinkin, what the testers were testing and what the project managers consider features.

– Send instant message. Ok so exactly how am I supposed to send a message to people who are online? Right-click on the MSN tray icon, “Send an instant Message” and then… oh I see. What a mess. There are groups in which you can organise the contacts. Does it make sense to alphabetically order every contact including the groups? Exactly how is this list a grouped list? The group tags are also
alphabetically sorted in the above list. In the MSN 6.x version, I could double click on the contact to open a messenger window but now, it toggles a check box.I do understand the ‘feature’ that you can simultaneously send a message to many people at once. But this ‘feature’ forces me to add all of my contacts to a conf room.

– I have the habit of pasting URLs in my status message. This is so that people could view this URL if they want to, instead of me spamming them with URLs. So exactly how do people click this URL? No way to do that. The status message is not copyable and is not considered as a possible URL. So the person has to type that string into his browser, quite a feat to get it right, I would say.

– Goto my inbox. Ofcourse Microsoft does not honour its own registry keys regarding the default web browser. So this is a feature I rarely use.

– Message History window has some serious issues. The names of the people in the “From” and “To” columns are clipped and strangely I cannot even change the width of these columns.

Things that I like in MSN messenger.
Shared folders. Awesome idea.

4 responses to “The all new MSN Live! But the same old shit.

  1. MSN IS SUCH A JOKE…
    It is such a shame that msn is the most commonly used instant messenger..
    Its a peice of shit… All we ask for is an instant messenger that works who the fk wants to pay money for somthing that u can get for free? And the ads.. the crashes.. Its not only msn messenger.. somthing is wrong with the whole world..
    its all falling to shit.. Such a joke..

    FUCK BIG BUSINESS AND THEIR FUCKING LAWYERS…
    I HOPE U ALL ROTT IN HELL…

  2. Not to mention the constant freezing mid conversation.
    The most annoying thing for me is when i try to sign in before my internet has connected and then trouble shoot comes up, and continues to come up even when my internet is connected.

  3. Why does not everyone change to Yahoo messenger, its so much betetr than MSN piece of shite. I downlosded new MSN without knowing on reboot, The MSN messenger covers half the screen and I cannot close the left panel. Its all shite and even the contacts listing is so disorganised….I Hate MSN and will gradually steer my contacts to Yahoo….and never use MSN only for emergency

Leave a Reply

