nvidia driver oddities

I installed the latest nvidia driver for gnu/linux on my debian system Deb: Unstable

filename: NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-8756-pkg1.run

87.56 driver

I love the installation procedure of NVIDIA driver. Neat and simple. Installs everything. However for some weird reason this time I had some crashes. The X server would not start once I installed the driver. Eventually I figured out that the reasons were:

1) module : speedo in /etc/X11/xorg.conf   is not longer supported for font rendering. You HAVE to comment out the line ##   Load "speedo"

2) for some very weird reason the drivers are not copied/linked to the right locations. So I had to create the symbolic links to these files in /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/

# cd /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/;

# ln -s /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.so . ;
# ln -s /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/nvidia_drv.so .

Also ensure that the nvidia.o file is present in /lib/modules/2.4.27-2-686/kernel/drivers/ 

My kernel just happens to be 2.4.27-2-686 

Leave a Reply

